President and Fellows (Harvard Corporation)

The oldest corporation in the Western Hemisphere is the Harvard Corporation, known formally as the President and Fellows of Harvard College. It is the smaller of Harvard’s two governing boards; the other is the Board of Overseers. Following are the members of the Harvard Corporation.

Drew Gilpin Faust, President

BA ’68, Bryn Mawr
MA ’71, PhD ’75, U. Pennsylvania

Drew Gilpin Faust took office as Harvard’s 28th president on July 1, 2007. A historian of the Civil War and the American South, she is also the Lincoln Professor of History in Harvard’s Faculty of Arts and Sciences. Previously she served as founding dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, a post she took up on Jan. 1, 2001. For more, please visit Office of the President.

Lawrence S. Bacow

Fellow (began service in 2011)
SB ’72, MIT
JD ’76, MPP ’76, PhD ’78, Harvard

More: Three to Join Harvard Corporation

James W. Breyer

Fellow (began service in 2013)
BS ’83, Stanford
MBA ’87, Harvard

More: Breyer elected to Harvard Corporation

Kenneth I. Chenault

Fellow (began service in 2014)
BA ’73, Bowdoin
JD ’76, Harvard

More: Chenault and Mills to join Harvard Corporation

Paul J. Finnegan

Fellow (2012-2014)
Treasurer (began service in 2014)
AB ’75, MBA ’82, Harvard

More: Finnegan elected to Corporation

Susan L. Graham

Fellow (began service in 2011)
AB ’64, Harvard
MS ’66, PhD ’71, Stanford

More: Three to Join Harvard Corporation

Nannerl O. Keohane

Fellow (began service in 2005)
BA ’61, Wellesley
BA, MA ’63, Oxford
PhD ’67, Yale
LLD (hon.) ’93, Harvard

Past president of Duke University and of Wellesley College, Nan Keohane served as the Laurance S. Rockefeller Distinguished Visiting Professor of Public Affairs at Princeton University from 2005 to 2013.  She currently holds the position of Senior Scholar at Princeton University.  A political theorist with interests in leadership and inequality, she taught earlier in her career at Swarthmore College, the University of Pennsylvania, and Stanford University, where she chaired the faculty senate. Her publications include Thinking about Leadership (2010), Higher Ground: Ethics and Leadership in the Modern University (2006), and Philosophy and the State in France (1980), as well as essays on feminism, the history of political thought, and higher education. She joined the Harvard Corporation in July 2005, and she chairs the Corporation Committee on Facilities and Capital Planning. She is a member of the board of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation.

William F. Lee

Fellow (began service in 2010)
Senior Fellow (began service in 2014)
AB ’72, Harvard
MBA ’76, JD ’76, Cornell

A Boston-based intellectual property expert, Bill Lee is partner, and former co-managing partner, of Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, a law firm with some 1,000 lawyers and twelve offices in the United States, Europe, and Asia. He has taught intellectual property litigation at Harvard Law School, as well as the innovative problem-solving workshop that HLS introduced in January 2010. His numerous trials have focused on such diverse matters as laser optics, secure Internet communications, pharmaceutical products, medical devices, and genetically engineered food. A member of Harvard’s Board of Overseers from 2002 to 2008, he was chair of the board’s committee on finance, administration, and management. He joined the Corporation in 2010 and became the Corporation’s senior fellow on July 1, 2014. Active in public service, he has served on numerous advisory committees to federal and state courts.

Jessica Tuchman Mathews

Fellow (began service in 2013)
AB ‘67, Radcliffe
PhD ‘73, Caltech

More: Mathews Wells elected

Karen Gordon Mills

Fellow (began service in 2014)
AB ’75, MBA ’77, Harvard

More: Chenault and Mills to join Harvard Corporation

Joseph J. O’Donnell

Fellow (began service in 2011)
AB ’67, MBA ’71, Harvard

More: Three to Join Harvard Corporation

Shirley M. Tilghman

Fellow (began service in 2016)
BSc ’68, Queen's U.
PhD ’75, Temple U.
LLD (hon.) ’04, Harvard

More: Tilghman named to Harvard Corporation

Theodore V. Wells, Jr.

Fellow (began service in 2013)
BA ’72, Holy Cross
JD ’76, MBA ‘76, Harvard

More: Mathews Wells elected