Members of the Board of Overseers are elected by Harvard degree holders. Following are the board’s current members, with their terms of service shown in parentheses:

Scott A. Abell (2012-2018)

Bath, OH
Retired Chairman and CEO, Abell & Associates, Inc.

Flavia Buarque de Almeida (2011-2017)

São Paulo, Brazil
Managing Director, Península Participações

Michael Brown (2014-2020)

Boston, MA
CEO and Co-Founder, City Year

Susan L. Carney (2013-2019)

New Haven, CT
U.S. Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit

R. Martin Chavez (2015-2021)

New York, NY
Chief Information Officer and Partner, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

Cheryl Dorsey (2010-2016)

New York, NY
President, Echoing Green 

Fernande R. V. Duffly (2015-2021)

Boston, MA
Associate Justice, Supreme Judicial Court

Christopher B. Field (2013-2019)

Stanford, CA
Director, Department of Global Ecology, Carnegie Institution for Science 

Richard W. Fisher (2011-2017)

Dallas, TX
Former President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Verna C. Gibbs (2011-2017)

San Francisco, CA
Professor of Surgery, University of California, San Francisco; Director, NoThing Left Behind

Brian Greene (2015-2021)

New York, NY
Professor of Physics and Professor of Mathematics, Columbia University

James Hildreth (2014-2020)

Davis, CA
Dean of the College of Biological Sciences, Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, and Professor of Internal Medicine, University of California, Davis

Walter Isaacson (2010-2016)

Washington, DC
President and CEO, The Aspen Institute

James E. Johnson (2012-2018)

Montclair, NJ
Litigation Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton, LLP

Beth Y. Karlan (2015-2021)

Los Angeles, CA
Director, Women’s Cancer Program, Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute; Director, Division of Gynecologic Oncology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center; Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Nicholas D. Kristof (2010-2016)

New York, NY
Columnist, The New York Times

Deanna Lee (2013-2019)

New York, NY
Chief Communications and Digital Strategies Officer, Carnegie Corporation of New York

Jane Lubchenco (2014-2020)

Corvallis, OR
Distinguished Service Professor and Advisor in Marine Studies, Oregon State University

Michael M. Lynton (2012-2020)

Los Angeles, CA
CEO, Sony Entertainment, Inc.

Karen Nelson Moore (2010-2016)

Cleveland, OH
U.S. Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit

Diana Nelson (2010-2016)

Minnetonka, MN
Chair, Carlson

Tracy P. Palandjian (2012-2018)

Boston, MA
CEO and Co-Founder, Social Finance, Inc.

Nicole Parent Haughey (2011-2017)

Boston, MA
Co-Founder Vertical Research Partners, LLC

Sanjay H. Patel (2013-2019)

London, England
Managing Partner and Head of International Private Equity, Apollo Management International

Swati A. Piramal (2012-2018)

Mumbai, India
Vice Chairperson, Piramal Healthcare Limited

Lesley Friedman Rosenthal (2014-2020)

New York, NY
Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts

Kathryn A. Taylor (2012-2018)

Oakland, CA
CEO and Co-Chair, Board of Directors, One PacificCoast Bank

John Silvanus Wilson, Jr. (2015-2021)

Atlanta, GA
President, Morehouse College

Gwill E. York (2013-2019)

Cambridge, MA
Managing Director, Lighthouse Capital Partners, Inc.

Kenji Yoshino (2011-2017)

New York, NY
Chief Justice Earl Warren Professor of Constitutional Law, New York University School of Law

Drew Gilpin Faust

President, Harvard University
Ex officio

Paul J. Finnegan

Treasurer, Harvard University
Ex officio